Caretaker Chief Minister: Parliamentary Committee, Opposition to Meet to Decide


Caretaker Chief Minister of Punjab will be decided tomorrow as former opposition and parliamentary committee will meet in Punjab Assembly.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leader, Mehmood-ur-Rasheed said that the committee would meet tomorrow as earlier; PTI was busy with parliamentary board meeting for party tickets.

Mehmood –ur- Rasheed also hinted that PTI would propose names of news analyst Ayaz Amir and defense analyst Dr. Hassan Askari for the post of caretaker chief minister.

PTI and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has already finalized names of their representatives for the parliamentary committee mandated to consult over caretaker Chief Minister of Punjab.

PTI nominated three-member committee under Mehmood-ur-Rasheed, Sibtain Khan and Shoaib Siddiqui. Rana Sanaullah, Malik Ahmed Khan and Khawaja Imran Nazir were nominated by PML-N.

Former CM Punjab Shehbaz Sharif failed to consensus over names of caretaker CM. The decision is now left on the parliamentary committee.

Punjab government and opposition had agreed to appoint Nasir Mahmood Khosa as the Punjab caretaker chief minister but later PTI withdrew his nomination after receiving “severe reaction” from party workers.

In the second phase of the negotiations, Shehbaz Sharif nominated former Pakistan Navy chief Admiral Muhammad Zakaullah, former DG Intelligence Bureau Aftab Sultan, former IG Punjab Tariq Saleem Dogar, and Justice (Retd.) Sahir Ali and for the post of caretaker CM. Mehmood –Ur-Rasheed presented the names of Orya Maqbool Jan, Yaqub Izhar, and Askari.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here