ECP Declared Public Holiday on Pakistan Elections 2018


ECP has announced public holiday on Pakistan Elections 2018.

During the meeting, chief election commissioner Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan has approved the public holiday on 25th July Election 2018 day.

A total number of 11,855 candidates will contest for the 849 National Assembly seats and four provincial assemblies.

Total 3,459 candidates are taking part in elections, including 1,623 from Punjab, 824 from Sindh, 725 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and 287 from Baluchistan. They will contest for the 272 general seats of the National Assembly.

The National Assembly consists of 342 members, of whom 272 are directly elected, 60 seats are reserved for women and 10 are open to religious minorities.

A political party needs at least 172 seats to form a majority government the national level and has the right to select a prime minister as well.

According to Election Commission of Pakistan, a total of 8,396 candidates are running for 577 general seats of the four provincial assemblies.

As compared to 2013 elections, there is a considerable decline in the number of candidates contesting elections this time. In General Elections 2013, a total of 15,629 candidates — 4,671 for National Assembly and 10,958 for provincial assemblies — contested to form government.

According to the ECP, a total of 105.96 million voters out of total population of about 200 million people are included in the electoral poll 2018 to cast vote in elections on July 25. This includes, 59.22million male and 46.73million females, with the gender gap between male and female rising to around 12.5m. This shows that 55.9 per cent of the registered voters in Pakistan are males while only 44.1pc are females.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here