Interesting Facts About National Assembly Seats for By- Elections 2018


National Assembly seats available for contesting by polls have gained immense significance due to political situation in the country.

Of the 12 NA seats that are currently vacant, nine’s constituencies are in Punjab, one in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and two are in Sindh.

Only one of the National Assembly seats will have a by-election on October 21 i.e Karachi’s NA-247, the remaining 11 will elect a leader on October 14 2018.

Of the 12 seats, two hadn’t seen any polling activity on July 25 2018.

These were NA-60 in Rawalpindi and NA-103 in Faisalabad. A candidate running for the NA-60 election had expired, necessitating the postponement of polls. One of the candidates for NA-103 had sadly committed suicide, leading to the postponement of the election there.

Of the remaining 10 National Assembly seats, seven were won by the PTI and two by its coalition partner, the PML-Q. Only one of the seats previously belonged to the PML-N.

Of the seven National Assembly seats won by the PTI but which are now up for grabs, four were won by Prime Minister Imran Khan alone, one by President Alvi, and one each by Tahir Sadiq and Ghulam Sarwar.

Both PML-Q seats were won by Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, who gave up so he could keep his Punjab Assembly seat. He is currently the Speaker of the Punjab Assembly.

The PML-N seat was won by Hamza Shehbaz Sharif, who gave up to keep his seat in the Punjab Assembly. He is currently the opposition leader in that house.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.