Live Updates: Prime minister Elections in Process, Imran Likely to Win


The process of Prime Minister Elections has started in National Assembly chaired by NA Speaker Asad Qaisar.

The voting to elect the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan is underway at the National Assembly after Speaker directed the lawmakers begin the process.

The MNAs supporting Imran Khan have gathered in lobby A while those supporting Shahbaz Sharif in lobby B.

The has designated booth A as voting booth for Imran Khan  and booth B as voting booth for Shahbaz Sharif  in the NA.

Voting has officially begun for the next Leader of the House

Dressed in white-shalwar kameez and black waistcoat, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chairman Imran Khan  has also reached the parliament house.


The polling process for electing prime minister of Pakistan has ended and the counting of the ballot is underway in the National Assembly.


PML-N candidate for prime minister Shehbaz Sharif himself made efforts to woo PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari   to vote for PM slot, but failed to do so.


Pakistan People’s Party is abstaining from voting in the process of electing the prime minister.

4:50 pm

Voting for prime minister of Pakistan begins in the National Assembly, being presided over by Speaker Asad Qaisar.

04:15 pm

National  Assembly session has started.


PML (N) has  decided to protest in the National Assembly after the prime minister elections over alleged rigging in the last month electoral polling.


Talking to media upon arrival at the Parliament House, former federal minister Ahsan Iqbal claimed that his party’s mandate was snatched in General elections 2018.

03:00 pm

Awami Muslim League leader Sheikh Rasheed  said  Pakistan is in critical phase of its history. When asked to comment about his prospects of being  in Imran Khan’s cabinet, AML chief replied:” I’m in best position”.

The PTI emerged single largest party in general elections 2018  and is all set to  form government in center  with the help of its allies.

PTI Chairman is required to  receive  172 votes in the  372-member house .

Analyst believe Khan is expected to secure 176 voters while his opponent Shahbaz Sharif 95 . The Pakistan People’s Party has decided to abstain the vote expressing reservations over the nomination of Shahbaz Sharif.

The opposition stand divided after it failed to filed a joint candidate against Imran Khan.

The PTI on Thursday got its chief minister elected in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for the second consecutive term.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.