Parliament, PTV Attack Case: Arif Alvi, Shafqat Mahmood filed acquittal plea


Shafqat Mahmood and Arif Alvi submitted acquittal petitions in the attack on Parliament House and Pakistan Television (PTV) in 2014.

President Arif Alvi and federal minister Shafqat Mahmood filed acquittal plea in Parliament, PTV attack case. The Anti Terrorism Court (ATC) began the hearing of both these cases today. However, twelve accused in Parliament, PTV attack case submitted the petition from appearing before the court.

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi and Finance Minister Asad Umar are among those who filed pleas.

In September 2018, the ATC gave permanent exemption to Prime Minister Imran Khan in Parliament, PTV attack case.

Babar Awan, Imran Khan’s counsel, appeared before the ATC on his behalf. However, he submitted the plea for Imran Khan’s permanent exemption from PTV, Parliament Attack Cases. He argued that if there is more than accused in a case than the suspects can be exempted from appearing.

Imran Khan, Arif Alvi, Asad Umar, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, and others are accused of attacking PTV office and Parliament during the 2014 sit-in. Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) and PTI leaders were inducted after they marched towards PM House and Parliament.

Also Read: PM Imran got exemption from appearance


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.