Parliamentary Committee Meeting to Meet For Finalizing Caretaker CM KP

PESHAWAR: Parliamentary Committee will have a meeting today to finalize name of Caretaker CM of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

According to Mehmood Betani, former MPA from the JUI-F party, the meeting will be held at 10pm today. The members in meeting will discuss over the appointment of government officials and caretaker CM. Batani also said that there will be three members from JUI-F and three from the outgoing government.

However; Asfand Yar Wali led ANP leader Sardar Hussain Babak has raised issues over composition of the committee. Babak said that the former chief minister Pervez Khattak and former Opposition leader Lutfur-Rehman, decided names of committee members among themselves. He added that no other party was consulted over the formation of the committee

PML-N leader Aurangzeb Nalotha demanded that the committee to decide the caretaker PM should have members from all political parties.

Due to failure to reach consensus between Pervez Khattak and Lutfur-Rehman, parliamentary committee is to decide the caretaker CM.

Earlier on news was that Manzoor Afridi was named the caretaker CM of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. However; Imran Khan had rejected the name of Manzoor Afridi as candidate for the interim post.

If the Parliamentary committee fails to decide name of the person for the post, the decision will then lie in Election Commission’s hand.

As per constitution, opposition leader and incumbent CM meet and appoint a caretaker CM with mutual consensus. However; if the matter is not decided upon, then the decision is made through a parliamentary committee. If even the committee cannot decide on a name, then the decision for finalizing a name goes to ECP.

Balach Rasool
Balach Rasool
Mir Balach is a content writer having expertise in news article publication and strong educational background in Literature.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.