Parliamentary Committee to Form Today in Balochistan for Caretaker CM


QUETTA: A parliamentary committee will be formed today, Monday, to appoint a caretaker CM for Balochistan.

Balochistan assembly completed its five-year term on May 31. Six meetings between former CM Abdul Quddus Bizenjo and Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party leader Abdul Rahim Ziaratwal failed. Due to the deadlock the caretaker CM for Baluchistan could not be filled.

Both leaders will send names of three representatives each to the now dissolved Baluchistan Assembly for the parliamentary committee. After which the committee will vote on candidates proposed by both former opposition and former provincial government.

The six meetings to appoint the caretaker CM Balochistan were also attended by former CMs Dr Abdul Malik Baloch and Nawab Sanaullah Zehri.

In the last meeting seven people were recommended altogether by both former government and opposition.

Alauddin Marri, former environment minister Prince Ahmed Ali, former senator Kamran Murtaza and Hussain Baksh were recommended by Bizenjo for the interim post. On the other hand opposition recommended former ambassador Qazi Ashraf, former speaker Aslam Bhotani and senior lawyer Ali Ahmed Kurd.

Sindh has already had its CM taken oath and assuming position by Fazlur Rahman. Fazlur Rahman took oath on Saturday, the oath was administered by Governor Mohammad Zubair.

Other than Sindh, no other province’s government and opposition could come to consensus over the post for caretaker CM.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here