Shehbaz Sharif and 31 Others Issued Notices for Violating ECP Code of Conduct


Syed Ahmad Fawad, District Monitoring Officer issued notices to PML (N) President Shehbaz Sharif along with 31 other PML-N candidates, over violation of the ECP Code of Conduct.

According to a spokesperson, the PML-N office-bearers had filed an application for permission for a public meeting by PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif at Al-Fateh Sports Complex near Saleemi Chowk in Faisalabad. The DMO had also granted them permission for holding a meeting at the chosen site.

However, they did not seek permission from the administration to hold the rally at Saleemi Chowk. The PML N supporters also used containers to block the Habib Jalib Road for the rally.

The DMO also issued warning to the meeting organizers to refrain from holding gatherings at un-permitted places. However, they failed to comply with the orders as per ECP code of conduct. They caused law and order situation and blocked traffic and created inconvenience for the public.

DMO therefore, issued notice under Section 234 of the Election Act 2017 to 31 accused violators on charges of holding public rally at unspecified place and timings, holding car rallies, non-abiding by the directions/advice of police/LEA on duty with regard to the right of road, non-submission of notice three days in advance for changing public meeting and announcement of development schemes in the meeting.

The notices have been issued to Shehbaz Sharif , Tallal Chaudry, Ali Gohar Baloch, Abid Sher Ali,  Chaudhry Muhammad Shahbaz Babar, Mian Muhammad Farooq, Rana Sanaullah, Haji Muhammad Akram Ansari, Mian Abdul Mannan, Muhammad Afzal Khan, among others.

The PML-N leaders have been directed to submit their written replies by July 23, 2018.  In case they fail to do so, necessary legal action might be taken against them under Election Act 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here