Speaker, Deputy Speaker Election: Asad Qaiser became Speaker


PTI’s Asad Qaiser elected as Speaker in the Speaker, Deputy Speaker election today.

Asad Qaiser became National Assembly Speaker as he got 176 votes while Khursheed Shah got 146 votes. Total 330 votes were casted, out of which 8 are rejected and 322 are accepted. The voting end at National Assembly for Speaker while Deputy Speaker election will be held shortly.

Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf Nominated Asad Qaiser for the Speaker. However, the joint opposition nominated Syed Khursheed Shah for the same post.

Qasim Suri is the candidate of PTI for Deputy Speaker. However, Muttahida Majlis e Amal (MMA) nominated Asad Mahmood for this post.

KP Assembly elected Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani as Speaker

Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani secured 81 votes while Laiq Muhammad Khan received just 27 votes.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly members also cast vote for Speaker, Deputy Speaker election. PTI nominated Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani and Mehmood Jan for the post of Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

However, joint opposition nominated ANP’s Laiq Muhammad Khan and PML-N’s Jamshed Mohmand for Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

Sindh Assembly reelected Agha Siraj Durrani as Speaker

Agha Siraj Durrani from PPP got 96 votes while Javed Hanif from MQM-P got 59 votes.

Newly elected members of Sindh Assembly will also participate in Speaker, Deputy Speaker election today. Agha Siraj Durrani is nominated from Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) for the Speaker. However, the joint opposition nominated MQM-P’s member Javed Hanif for the post.

For the post of Deputy Speaker, PPP and the joint opposition nominated Rehana Leghari and PTI’s Rabia Azfar Nizami respectively.

Balochistan Assembly

Balochistan Assembly members will elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker on Thursday (tomorrow).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.