Pakistan Election 2018: Transgender candidates contesting the election


Transgenders to take part in the general vote. Although, at the onset of the election campaign, 13 transgender candidates filed their nomination papers for the contestable constituencies in both the national and provincial assemblies. But nine were forced to drop out, due to lack of funds. Unlike women and religious minorities, transgenders do not have any reserved seats in the parliament or the provincial houses.

Former MP, Ayesha Gulalai Wazir, who formed her own faction of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf political party, has fielded two of the four transgender candidates. The other three are running as independents.

As per ECP data only 1,913 transgender citizens are registered in Pakistan to vote. Even though, a recent population census puts their headcount at over 10,000.

The contesting candidates include two from Nayab Ali – PTI-GLubna Lal – PTI-Gand three independent candidates Nadeem Kashish, Zahid Khan aka Resham and Alamgir aka Maria.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here