Asia Cup: History, interesting records, stats, facts and figures


Asia Cup complete history, records, stats, facts and figures of all tournaments.

Asia Cup 2018 is starting from September 15 (today). However, there are some interesting records, stats, facts and information.

Who is the leading run scorer in Asia Cup?

Sanath Jayasuria made 1,220 runs and he is the leading run scorer.

Who is the leading wicket taker in Asia Cup?

Muttiah Muralitharan took 30 wickets and he is the leading wicket taker.

Which cricket team won most Asia Cup titles?

India won six titles. However, Sri Lanka and Pakistan lifted the trophy on five and two occasions respectively.

Which batsman has the best average in Asia Cup?

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has the best average of 95.16 in the tournament.

What is the highest ODI individual score in Asia Cup?

Virat Kohli made 183 against Pakistan in the Asia Cup 2012 and it is a highest ODI individual score in the tournament.

Other Interesting Facts about Asia Cup

The first Asia Cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah in the UAE. Just three nations participated in the competition at the time – India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan. Indian team driven by Sunil Gavaskar lifted the debut trophy as they vanquished Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

India hauled out of the second version of the competition in 1986, held in Sri Lanka, because of tense cricketing relations with the host country. Sri Lanka vanquished Pakistan in the last to secure the trophy.

In 1988, the third tournament was held in Bangladesh – the first run through a multi-country competition was held in the nation. India vanquished Sri Lanka in the last to lift their second trophy.

In 1990, Pakistan hauled out of the competition, which was held in India, because of stressed political pressures with the nation. India held the trophy in the wake of vanquishing Sri Lanka in the last.

In 1993, the stressed relations among India and Pakistan prompted the abrogation of the competition altogether.

In 1995, India won the tournament that was held in UAE.

In 1997, Sri Lanka lifted the trophy in the wake of overcoming India in the last at home.

In 2000, Pakistan won the Asia Cup title for the first time.

In 2004, there was an adjustment in arrangement of the tournament, with Hong Kong and UAE, entering the shred. Out of the blue, the opposition was partitioned into three phases – the Group Stage, Super Fours and Final. Sri Lanka vanquished India to lift the trophy.

In 2008, India made a trip to Pakistan for the tournament and achieved the last. In any case, Sri Lanka crushed India in the last to secure the trophy.

India won the 2010 Asia Cup, their first in 15 years, subsequent to overcoming Sri Lanka.

In 2012, Pakistan lifted their second title, in the wake of securing an exciting last over triumph over Bangladesh in the last by 2 runs.

In 2014, Afghanistan entered the shred without precedent for the tournament. The competition, which was held in Dhaka, saw Sri Lanka crushing Pakistan in the last to win the trophy.

In 2016, the tournament was held in the T20 format for the first time. India crushed Bangladesh to win the trophy in Dhaka.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.