ICC Excludes Shaheen Afridi For Test Player Award


Pakistan cricket fans expressed shock on Tuesday over the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) decision to not nominate fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi in the list of nominees for the Men’s Test Player of the Year 2021 award.

Instead, ICC chose to nominate Sri Lanka’s Dimuth Karunaratne, New Zealand’s Kyle Jamieson, India’s Ravichandran Ashwin and England’s Joe Root.

Social media users highlighted that Afridi had an excellent year in the longest form of cricket.

“Surprised that Shaheen Shah Afridi, who took 47 wickets (2nd highest) at an average of 17.06, is not included,” Sports journalist Saj Sadiq said.

Another sports journalist, Arsalan Siddique said, “Shaheen performed phenomenally this year and bagged 47 wickets in just nine matches and yet his name was not included in the nominees’ list.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.