Pak Vs Aus: Pakistan will play 2 tests, 3 T20s, in Australia this year


Australia will host Pakistan for three Twenty20 Pak Vs Aus internationals and also two Tests, including a pink-ball day-nighter, later this year.

Pakistan will play the T20Is at Sydney, Canberra and Perth in November, followed by the Test series. Brisbane’s Gabba will host the first of two Tests against Pakistan from November 21, followed by a day-night Test at Adelaide Oval, the schedule released Tuesday showed.

Ordinarily, one-day internationals are played at home in January, but Australia will instead be in India to fulfil an obligation under the Future Tours Program.

Cricket Australia wanted to find an alternative date for the series, but India reportedly refused to budge, meaning three one-dayers against New Zealand will instead start in March, extending the season to its latest finish in 41 years.

The last time the season ended so late was in 1979 when Australia hosted Pakistan for a Test in Perth.

“Scheduling international cricket is challenging in that nine of the 10 major cricketing countries have seasons similar to ours,” said Cricket Australia´s head of operations Peter Roach.

“So working with them to find space in the calendar to fulfil our obligations to the ICC Future Tours Program is a juggling act.

“Cricket Australia took the position that while January was our preference for these ODI matches, there are times we need to honour our commitments to work in the greater context of international cricket scheduling.”

Australia vs Pakistan

1st T20, Sydney November 3

2nd T20, Canberra November 5

3rd T20, Perth November 8

1st Test, Brisbane November 21-25

2nd Test, Adelaide (day/night) November 29-December 3


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.