HomePakistanPSL 8 Draft featured with Big-names

PSL 8 Draft featured with Big-names

All six teams selected their squads ahead of the forthcoming competition in the 8th season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) draft, which has now passed.

The drafting for this edition features some huge names, and all six groups will be striving for those top athletes.

PSL 2023 draft

The 2022 Asia Cup champions Wanindu Hasaranga and Bhanuka Rajapaksa, the T20 World Cup champions Adil Rashid and Matthew Wade from England and Australia, the New Zealand all-rounder Jimmy Neesham from New Zealand, and the South African all-rounder Tabraiz Shamsi will all compete in the PSL for the first time in the history of PSL.

Let’s take a look at how the current teams succeeded following the decisions made by the individual franchise regarding leadership decisions and player retention.

Complete List of PSL 8 team squad.

PSL 8 Category draft list

Karachi Kings:

Platinum: Haider Ali, Imran Tahir (South Africa), Matthew Wade (Australia)

Diamond: Imad Wasim, James Fuller (New Zealand), James Vince (both England)

Gold: Andrew Tye (Australia), Mohammad Amir, Shoaib Malik

Silver: Aamer Yamin, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Akhlaq, Sharjeel Khan, Tayyab Tahir

Emerging:  Irfan Khan Niazi, Qasim Akram.

Supplementary: Mohammad Umar and Tabraiz Shamsi (South Africa).

Multan Sultan:

Platinum: David Miller (South Africa), Josh Little (Ireland), Mohammad Rizwan.

Diamond: Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Shan Masood

Gold: Akeal Hosein (West Indies), Shahnawaz Dahani, Tim David (Australia)

Silver: Anwar Ali, Sameen Gul, Sarwar Afridi, Usama Mir, Usman Khan

Emerging: Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah.

Supplementary: Adil Rashid (England) and Arafat Minhas.

Islamabad United:

Platinum: Alex Hales (England), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Afghanistan), Shadab Khan.

Diamond: Asif Ali, Fazal Haq Farooqi (Afghanistan), Wasim Jr.

Gold: Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali.

Silver: Abrar Ahmed, Colin Munro (New Zealand), Paul Stirling (Ireland), Rumman Raees, Sohaib Maqsood.

Emerging: Hassan Nawaz, Zeeshan Zamir.

Supplementary: Moeen Ali (England) and Mubasir Khan.

Lahore Qalandars:

Platinum: Fakhar Zaman, Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Shaheen Shah Afridi

Diamond: Dawid Wiese (Namibia), Hussain Talat, Haris Rauf.

Gold: Abdullah Shafique, Liam Dawson (England), Sikander Raza (Zimbabwe)

Silver: Ahmad Daniyal, Dilbar Hussain, Harry Brook (England), Kamran Ghulam, Mirza Tahir Baig

Emerging: Shawaiz Irfan, Zaman Khan.

Supplementary: Jalat Khan and Jordan Cox (England)

Peshawar Zalmi:

Platinum: Babar Azam, Rovman Powell (West Indies), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka), (all Platinum),

Diamond Mujeeb Ur Rehman (Afghanistan), Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies), Wahab Riaz.

Gold: Arshad Iqbal, Danish Aziz, Mohammad Haris.

Silver: Aamer Jamal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore (England), Saim Ayub, Salman Irshad, Usman Qadir

Emerging: Haseebullah Khan, Sufyan Muqeem.

Supplementary: Jimmy Neesham (New Zealand).

At the Replacement Draft, Peshawar Zalmi will select its second Supplementary.

Quetta Gladiators:

Platinum: Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka).

Diamond: Iftikhar Ahmed, Jason Roy (England), Odean Smith (West Indies).

Gold: Ahsan Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, Sarfaraz Ahmed.

Silver: Mohammad Zahid, Naveen-ul-Haq (Afghanistan), Umar Akmal, Umaid Asif, Will Smeed (England).

Emerging: Aimal Khan, Abdul Wahid Bangalzai.

Supplementary: Martin Guptill (New Zealand) and Omair Bin Yousuf.

The 8th season of the Pakistan Super League will be hosted in four different Pakistani cities from 13 February to 19 March 2023.

Rida Shahid
Rida Shahidhttps://hamariweb.com/
Rida Shahid is a content writer with expertise in publishing news articles with strong academic background in Political Science. She is imaginative, diligent, and well-versed in research techniques. Her essay displays her analytical style quite well. She is currently employed as English content writer at hamariweb.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.