Babar Azam Nominated For ICC Player Of The Year Award


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has nominated Pakistan cricket team captain Babar Azam for the Men’s ODI Player of the Year award.

In a statement, the ICC said the other nominations include Bangladesh’s Shakibul Hassan, South Africa’s Janneman Malan and Ireland’s Paul Stirling.

“Talismanic all-rounder, two dashing openers, and the top-ranked batter in the 50-over format,” the ICC added.

Pakistan opener, the star batter, played only six matches in 2021 but was in his prime form throughout the year. He scored 405 runs in six matches at an average of 67.50 with two centuries.

Hasan, the Bangladeshi all-rounder scored 277 runs in nine matches at an average of 39.57 with two fifties and also bagged 17 wickets at an average of 17.52.

South Africa cricketer Malan, shortlisted for the award, has scored 509 runs in eight matches at an average of 84.83 with two centuries and two half-centuries in the outgoing year.

The fourth player, Stirling, nominated for the coveted award from Ireland who scored 705 runs in 14 matches at an average of 79.66 with three centuries and two half-centuries.

Player of the Year will be decided through a ballot by cricket fans. The winner will be announced on January 24, 2022.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.